Norway is among the participating countries at the Astana Club 2019 political forum


On November 11-12, 2019, the Nazarbayev Center will host the fifth annual meeting of the Astana Club, the largest platform for discussing geopolitical and security issues in the region. During the two-day event, experts will discuss the most important issues on the future of Eurasia and the dynamics of global processes.

The fifth meeting of the Club will be held under the title: “Greater Eurasia: On the Way to New Architecture of Global Cooperation”.

The Club’s expert discussions will focus on the current aggravated confrontation in USA-China-Russia triangle, the growth in trade protectionism and populist sentiments, as well as a new wave of escalation in Iran and North Korea.

Particular attention will be paid to shaping the future architecture of cooperation in Eurasia, as well as to finding solutions to key global security challenges, such as the issue of uncontrolled nuclear proliferation.

The plenary meeting of the Club is the central event, which will be devoted to the discussion of the topic: “Creating Greater Eurasia: a new model for partnership”.

Key speakers of the Astana Club this year will include:

ASLE TOJE – Member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee and TERJE RØD-LARSEN Special envoy and Under-Secretary-General of the UN (1999-2004), President of the International Peace Institute (IPI) will take part at the Astana Club 2019.

Mohamed ELBARADEI, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate (2005), IAEA Director General (2013-2014), Egypt
Jacob FRENKEL, Chairman of JPMorgan Chase International and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Group of Thirty (G-30), Governor of the National Bank of Israel (1991–2000), USA
Jose Manuel BARROSO, President of the European Commission (2004-2014), Non-Executive Chairman of Goldman Sachs International, Portugal
Hamid KARZAI, President of Afghanistan (2001-2014), Afghanistan
Jose Luis ZAPATERO, Prime Minister of Spain (2004-2011), Spain
Yves LETERME, Prime Minister of Belgium (2008, 2009-2011), Secretary General of the International IDEA Institute, Belgium
Shaukat AZIZ, Prime Minister of Pakistan (2004-2007), Pakistan
Danilo TÜRK, President of Slovenia (2007-2012), Slovenia
Yun BYUNG-SE, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea (2013-2017), South Korea
Franco FRATTINI, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Italy (2002-2004, 2008-2011), Italy
Mikhail FRADKOV, Director of the Russian Institute for Strategic Studies, Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation (2004-2007), Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation (2007-2016)

The event is organized by the Institute of World Economy and Politics and the Foundation of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan – Elbasy.

The mission of the Astana Club is to bring together leading experts, political leaders and diplomats of Eurasia to form a global agenda considering Kazakhstan’s foreign policy priorities.

Traditionally, the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan-Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev attends the Astana Club meeting.

Some of the Astana Club meetings will be held in accordance with the Chatham house rules, meaning their closed nature and allowing for a heated and open discussion of the most urgent issues in Eurasia and in the world.

Over the years, more than 200 speakers from 40 countries have attended the Club meetings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *