The Holberg Prize Announces Two Journalist Grants for the 2019 Holberg Week


The Holberg Prize is pleased to announce two journalist grants to attend the Award Ceremony for the 2019 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize, as well as related events that will take place in Bergen and Oslo, Norway, from the 3rd to the 6th of June, 2019. The two recipients of the grants will be guests of the Holberg Prize and the University of Bergen and will be invited to all the events, including the Award Ceremony and the Government Banquet on 5 June.

The grants cover travel expenses, hotel accommodation, and meals. An interview with the Holberg Laureate and/or the Nils Klim Laureate may be arranged if requested. The recipients will be selected by an independent evaluation committee. 

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Prize is worth NOK 6 million (approx. USD 700,000).

The Holberg Board has decided to award the 2019 Holberg Prize to British cultural historian Paul Gilroy for his outstanding contributions to a number of academic fields, including cultural studies, critical race studies, sociology, history, anthropology and African-American studies. Dr. Gilroy is Professor of American and English Literature at King’s College London, and he is one of the most well-known researchers and public intellectuals in the UK today.

The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a Nordic researcher under the age of 35 who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the fields covered by the Holberg Prize. The Prize is worth NOK 500,000 (approx. EUR 50,000).

The Holberg Board has decided to award the 2019 Nils Klim Prize to Icelandic-Swedish philosopher Finnur Dellsén for his research in epistemology and the philosophy of science. Dellsén is Associate Professor at the Department of Philosophy, University of Iceland. His research focus includes the conditions of understanding and the nature of acceptance of scientific explanations.

The Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize will both be conferred during a ceremony in the University Aula in Bergen on 5 June, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *